The 2016 Year-End Survey

What did you do in 2016 that you’d never done before? Mag-Ninang sa kasal. 😛

Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I didn’t. Joined the “One Word” movement for the first time, with the word “Mindfulness.” I’m doing the same thing this year, with “Health” as my word for 2017. 😎

Did anyone close to you…
Get married?
My inaanaks. Hahaha! Monica & Al on Dec 10 (after 10 million years!). Ari & Diana – December 30 (Surprise! Surprise! 😛 ).
Give birth? Maciang to baby Alriq. Joni to baby Joril. Crizelda to baby Nathan.
Passed away? A high school classmate’s baby who figured in a freak accident. Our high school Chem teacher. One of the waitresses from our suking carinderia, whose death from an apparent illness was very shocking! She was always cheerful and would even watch over Elmo while we ate at their store. She didn’t appear to be sick at that time. 😦

What would you like to have in 2017 that you lacked in 2016? Serenity

What date(s) from 2016 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? October 19–aftermath of Super Typhoon Lawin, and our anniversary.

What was your biggest achievement of the year? IDK, keeping the house clutter at bay. 😛

What was your biggest failure? Letting my emotions get the better of me ^_^;;

Did you suffer illness or injury? A lot! There’s the perpetual skin rash. And the flu which took me 2 weeks of convalescence. And allergic rhinitis & asthma attacks which occur on an almost monthly frequency. Hence my word for the year. 😉

What was the best thing you bought? It’s not something recently purchased, but we acquired my childhood piano from my parents. It was bought 30 years ago and has slowly steadily fallen apart over the decades. Spent quite a sum in rehabilitating it, but I’m happy we got to salvage it. 🙂

Whose behavior merited celebration? Therese who is still able to exude grace and peace, despite all the trials coming her way.

Where did most of your money go? House works pa den. The piano above.

What did you get really, really, really excited about? The piano. Christmas! My new iPhone. My X-Files charm bracelet. And The Heart and Brain comics.

What song(s) will always remind you of 2017? Pen apple pineapple 😛

Compared to this time last year, are you…
Happier or sadder? This “time of the year” is definitely happier than last year’s. But if I am to average this year’s “happiness” vs. last year’s, this year’s actually more negative in the scale. 😯 I’m not sadder. But I am more anxious and fearful. And very very tired.
Thinner or fatter? My clothes fit more comfortably now. But the weighing scale, mirror and pictures say otherwise. 😛
Richer or poorer? Richer in material things, poorer in spirit. 😦

What do you wish you’d done more of? Sleep. Physical activity. Go out and explore the outdoors. Take pictures. Write/journal/blog. Count my blessings. Meditate.

What do you wish you’d done less of? Eat. Worry. Get angry. 😠 Idle Internet surfing.

How did you spend Christmas? It was a Sunday, a slow day. We mostly have work during Sundays and even holidays. But this Sunday was rare for us, in that we were able to observe the Sabbath as a day of rest. It was my “ideal” of a perfect Sunday, I actually cried that night (seriously! 😛). We had lunch at Rufino’s, in Paoay. Dinner at Saramsam. Gift-giving at home. Received a mechanical metronome from my husband and the Jim Kay-illustrated Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

Did you fall in love in 2017? Yes.🙂

What was your favorite TV program? Mostly Disney Junior!

What was the best book you read? Only got to read a couple of books–Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (both the Hogwarts textbook and the movie screenplay)

What were your greatest musical discoveries? Rediscovering John Williams

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2016? Round skirts. Sleeveless blouses. Whites. Black pumps.

What did you want and get? An iPhone, to replace my old 5-year old Blackberry which finally conked out on me. Not the fancy schmancy iPhone 7, but the more practical iPhone SE, which fits in the palm of my small hand, and is perfect for my purposes! The mechanical metronome which my husband gifted me for Christmas.

What did you want and not get? A slim and healthy body. 😛

What was your favorite film of this year? Only got to watch two, which I both loved. “Finding Dory” which hits me differently now that I am a parent. While kids might probably relate to Dory (and Nemo) whose search and rescue ended in success anyway, I now feel for Dory’s parents and Nemo’s dad. The thought of losing one’s child is frightening! 😮
I also enjoyed “Rogue One”. Most people found it dark, but IDK, I found it to be a ‘refreshing’ take on the Star Wars universe. Indeed, it puts the “War” in Star Wars. I find it a fitting tribute to the unsung heroes of war; not the captains and generals and Skywalkers, but the many nameless soldiers and warriors who bravely sacrifice, fight and die for a cause.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? 30++ We had dinner with a couple of friends.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Serenity

What kept you sane? Only by God’s grace. I don’t know how I got through 2016. It’s been a very trying TIRING year! 😮

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Elmo! 😎

What political issue stirred you the most? Philippine elections

Who did you miss? The Competitors! I’m not part of their group, but I am friends with them. 😉 My HS barkada. And Tita Paula! 😎

Who was the best new person you met? Roanalaine! She’s not new. But I think we’ve bonded more this year. 😃

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2016.
“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:22-23 NIV)

Tagging Diane, Leah, Edelweisa, The PseudoshrinkRenette, SAFM, SIU, theLittleDoramaGirl. And to anyone who wants to respond this survey, feel free to do so. Just link to this post to create a pingback so I could read yours.😉

2 thoughts on “The 2016 Year-End Survey

  1. HI Aggie! Thanks for the tag. will answer this at least before january ends 🙂

    and yes to this
    What was your biggest failure? Letting my emotions get the better of me ^_^
    Hell!!! The struggle hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

