Tsundoku

Tsundoku

toptentuesday
{source}

This week on The Broke and The Bookish’ Top Ten Tuesday: Ten books that have been on your shelf or “To Be Read” List that you still haven’t read yet.

I am reminded of this Japanese term that so precisely describes this phenomenon. “Tsundoku” is Japanese slang, derived from “tsunde-oku” (to pile things up ready for later and leave) and “dokusho” (reading books). It literally means “reading pile” and it describes the condition of acquiring reading materials but letting them pile up in one’s home without reading them; it also pertains to books still in the bookshelf for later reading.

dmc9nyy
{source}

While I have since given up on some books I will surely never ever read anymore, there are still a few I’m still holding on to, with hopes that I will be able to find the time to finally read and put closure on them.

1. Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo. I’ve listened to the soundtrack numerous times, watched the movie a dozen times, and have read the books at least thrice… but they were all abridged versions. I have yet to conquer all 1461 pages of the complete and unabridged version from Signet classics. It still is one of my goals to be able to read this magnificent piece of work… and watch the play too. 😎

51p01h3dztl-_sy344_bo1204203200_1
{source}

2. The Lord of the Rings, by JRR Tolkien. I tried, I really did; I even tried to psych myself when the movies were shown. 😮 But I never got beyond the first few chapters. Though I enjoyed Harry Potter and the Chronicles of Narnia, I guess this kind of fantasy adventure is too much for me. Anyway, I’m still keeping this in my shelf, still hoping to be able to read it in the future.

3. Watership Down, by Richard Adams. My girlfriends luv this book; my wedding Ninang (mom of one of said girlfriends) even wrote a prize-winning review of it in one of the local dailies. I started reading it, but it was during a very busy time in my life, so I never progressed beyond a few pages.

4. Tales from Watership Down. This was given to me by one of my girlfriends, as a supplement to the main book. I planned on reading it after finishing #3 above.

5. Her Fearful Symmetry, by Audrey Niffeneger. I luv The Time Traveler’s Wife. I thought I’d feel the same for her next book, but the synopsys didn’t intrigue me as much as TTTW. It’s still just there lying in my shelf, as I am undecided whether to give it away or give it another chance.

6. A Spot of Bother, by Mark Haddon. Again for the same intentions and motivations as #5 above. I enjoyed his “The Curious Incident of Dog in the Night-Time.”

7. The Weight of Water, Anita Shreve. I’ve read her “A Wedding in December” and though I didn’t enjoy it as immensely, thought I’d give her another chance. Read better reviews for TWOW, but I never got around to finding out myself.

8. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. I bought this on a whim; thought I’d try other genres.

9. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, by J.K. Rowling. It’s just a short book, I know, but it reads more like a textbook. (Well, it is a textbook at Hogwarts!) It could do well with some illustrations so that it’s not boring to look at. Perhaps the movie script with an actual story would be more engaging.

10. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, by Marie Kondo. Yep, I haven’t finished reading this book yet. Though I am proud to say, I’ve been decluttering and organizing more. 😉

What’s on your long-overdue reading pile? Share in the comments below. Or better yet, join the link party! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Tsundoku

    1. Sa totoo lang, I cannot subscribe to her “one time big time” approach to decluttering. I do understand the cathartic effect of the purging process, but it is not applicable to my current state, that is, having a toddler in the house. @_@

      Like

Leave a Reply

