Quote

Favorite Book Quotes

It’s time again for another Top Ten Tuesday. And this week’s a “Rewind”, so you can make a list on any of The Broke and the Bookish‘ previous topics. Thought I’d go for my favorite quotes. I like quotes. They are so succinct! 🙂

Here are some of my faves. I’m just putting out ten and saving the rest for future TTTs. 😛

1. “There is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.” – JK Rowling, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

2. “Numbing the pain for a while will make it worse when you finally feel it.” – JK Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

3. “That’s the worst of growing up… The things you wanted so much when you were a child don’t seem half so wonderful to you when you get them.” – L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

4. “People have a habit of inventing fictions they will believe wholeheartedly in order to ignore the truth they cannot accept.” – Libba Bray, The Sweet Far Thing

5. “We accept the love we think we deserve.” – Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

6. “Things change. And friends leave. Life doesn’t stop for anybody.” – Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

7. “Things that break–be they bones, hearts, or promises–can be put back together but will never really be whole.” – Jodi Picoult, Handle With Care

8. “The truth doesn’t always set you free; people prefer to believe prettier, neatly wrapped lies.” – Jodi Picoult, Keeping Faith

9. “Happiness is what you choose to rememeber.” – Jodi Picoult, Nineteen Minutes

10. “Kid says to me, ‘You play baseball? What position? Left out?’ and gets a big laugh from the rest of the class. Kid is only one person out of 6.792 billion humans on this planet. This planet is only one-eighth of the solar system, whose sun is one of two billion stars in the Milky Way galaxy. Put it that way, the comment loses its importance.” – Jodi Picoult, House Rules

6 thoughts on “Favorite Book Quotes

  1. Didn’t notice the one from The Perks from being a Wallflower… Love that book except that my cousin accidentally revealed the story in the middle of reading it hahahahaha

    What I like best from The Perks is the quote about family… it goes something like… I kept wondering how come we love each other but no one likes each other in reality haha

    Like

    1. I’m still trying to recall/look for that family quote you mentioned. But I found this other one instead, also from TPOBAW. I can’t believe I didn’t immediately think of it, but I’m putting it out now because I also like it. 🙂

      “I think that if I ever have kids, and they are upset, I won’t tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because it wouldn’t change the fact that they were upset. And even if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn’t really change the fact that you have what you have.”

      I only recently got to read TPOBAW, within the past 3 years or so. It’s supposed to cater to adolescents who are at a crossroads in their life, but IDK, I was able to relate so well to it. Baka adolescent pa ako at heart. Or super duper late bloomer. Haha. 😀

      Like

  2. Book quote no. 3 is spot-on! On a related note, how I viewed life as a kid is waaaaaay different from how I view it now. And diba nga, things are much better when you’re still imagining them than when they’ve come true na. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

