Of Secrets and Confessions

Freud once said, “No mortal can keep a secret. If his lips are silent, he chatters with his fingertips. Betrayal oozes out of every pore.” I think old Sigmund might’ve been on to something. Although we may be desperate to keep our secrets, the harder we try to bury them, the more they’ll arise to the surface. We are neurologically compelled to confess. And that’s a good thing, because confession is good for the body. It’s good for the brain. Might even be good for the soul, if you believe in that sort of thing.

– Dr. Daniel Pierce, Perception (“Blindness”, Season 2)

I’ve never seen “Perception”. Never even heard about it until today, when I had to google that quote above for proper attribution. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (It sounds interesting though–about a talented but eccentric neuropsychiatrist who is employed by the FBI to help in their crime scene investigations. Seems to me like House MD + The X-Files. Or CSI? IDK, but I’m biased towards The X-Files. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And Dr. Pierce’s background in neuropsychiatry makes him kinda like the scientific Scully character.)

Anyway. My sister-in-law posted that quote on her FB wall, and that line about being “neurologically compelled to confess”ย just struck me. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

We’ve all got secrets, ranging from the mundanely embarrassing, to the darkest and most shameful ones. And somehow, we ought to unload ourselves of them, whether sharing with a trusted friend, or writing in a journal (or bloggging anonymously!). We are hard wired to do so. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

3 thoughts on “Of Secrets and Confessions

  1. In relation to that, I’d confess that I’m terrible at keeping secrets. Mabibilang sa daliri ng kanang kamay, putol pa ang pinky, ang naitatago kong secret. And yet people tell me things, people who know me and how terrible I am at keeping secrets. A friend concluded that perhaps, those people’s real intention was for the secret to come out, not otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, that’s a really interesting thought. But true, right?! That’s why secrets are so hard to keep because we really really want to share them. xD And plus sharing makes the secret not so heavy, too, *nods*
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

  3. I can keep other people’s secrets but when it comes to mine, I have a hard time! I have to somehow share it with somebody I trust fully (a.k.a. my mom). Is that what Dr. Pierce meant when he said “neurologically compelled to confess?” Probably. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

