My Top Ten Book Delights

My Top Ten Book Delights

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme by The Broke and The Bookish. Today’s TTT is specifically on bookworm delights, and I thoroughly enjoyed this one. 🙂 The last TTT I joined was a freebie, so I wrote about My Top Ten Book Peeves, and well, that kinda brought back some bad memories. 😛 Doing this was much more fun. Indeed, positivity trumps ranting anytime. 😉

1. Finding THAT ONE ELUSIVE BOOK to finally complete a collection! Coz I’m a completist like that. 😉

2. Beautiful hardbound books. 🙂

These clothbound books by Coralie Bickford-Smith are so divine. 🙂 I admit I judge a book by its cover. I doubt I would be able to read all of these (nakakapanghinayang, baka madumihan 😛 ). But just looking at them already brings me joy. 🙂

pfbg4seqsiaqzexzzswt_main-imageI heart this set of Jane Austen books IN PINK LEATHER!!!! 🙂 By Juniper Books.

jane-austen-pink-leather-set1

Childhood reads in cute and colorful covers. By Puffin Classics.

puffin-hardcover-classics

3. As a corollary to #2 above, a lovely library. 🙂 At the least, a well-curated bookshelf. 😎

4. Curling up in bed with a good book, sipping a hot drink on a cold weather. So cliche. But true. 🙂 I suddenly feel nostalgic for class suspensions due to strong rains, when I don’t have to get up so early, and can just stay in bed all day, reading a book (or watching K-dramas 😉 ) Oh wait, I have to get up to prepare that hot drink. 😛

5. Reading to/with my son. ❤

guess-how-much-i-love-you
To the moon… and back! 🙂

6. Revisiting a childhood favorite. Brings back good memories of a time when life was simpler and worry-free. 🙂 My favorite childhood read is Louisa May Alcott’s “Little Women.” Beth was my favorite, and I cried when she died. I shipped for Jo and Laurie, and was heartbroken she chose gnarly old Professor Bhaer over her childhood best friend. I have lukewarm feelings for Meg, bordering on indifference–she seemed like a corny Ate. 😮 And I hate Amy, that snake sneak, especially when she ended up with Laurie. When I first read “Little Women”, I was younger than Amy, and it felt like I was the fifth and youngest sister. I re-read every couple of years or so, still crying each time Beth died :-P, getting older than each sister, until there came a point that I was already older than Meg. Now, I probably as old as… Marmee! 😛 )

7. An exhilarating read.

8. A satisfying conclusion. 😎

9. Beautifully drawn books. I’m *looking* at you, Jim Kay-illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

9781408845646_309816

10. Quotes that are succinctly stated and so personal as if relating to me. I sometimes have to fight the urge to highlight them! 😛

How about you? What book-related things make you happy? (Conversely, what book-related things irritate you? 😛 We can discuss about those here.)

16 thoughts on “My Top Ten Book Delights

    1. I’m kinda OC about my books, especially the good ones I intend to keep. 😉 So kahit luma na, walang dog ears at minimal lang ang creases sa spine. Yung oxidation lang ng pages to brown ang hindi ko mapigilan though; naku pag nabalot pa yan ng plastic cover, may border between the part that has been covered and the part that has been exposed. But I can live with that. 😉

      Baka gusto mo ring sagutin tong meme na to. Would love to hear about your book-related delights. That is, kung may oras ka lang. Lam ko sobra kang busy ngayon. 😎

      Like

  1. Oh completism has got me in so much trouble over the years! I’m STILL trying to find that one volume of The Chronicles of Prydain to match the other 4, and it’s been out of print for nearly 30 years *sigh* I also love trade editions, which combines with my completist streak to result in reaaaaally heavy books but glorious bookshelves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

