When Planets Align

In a rare occurrence, I woke up early today. ๐Ÿ˜› It was a little past 5, way before sunrise. The little one stirred beside me and so I had to shift my position. When I suddenly felt cold and had to get up to turn off the electric fan.

I then remembered that there’s a rare celestial spectacle too–the planetary conjunction. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The 5 planetsโ€“Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Mars and Jupiterโ€“can be seen with the naked eye, in an (almost) straight line. I have heard about the planetary conjunction in the news, but was resigned to missing it. You see, I am not an early-riser. I don’t know which is rarer–me waking up early or the planets aligning. ๐Ÿ˜›

But the stars have aligned! ๐Ÿ˜› And I found myself getting up and stepping out on the balcony, looking for that planetary conjunction. Was looking at something linear in the distant southern sky, which got me initially disappointed. “Hmmm… So that’s it?” But then I saw Venus shining brightest on the east and Jupiter big and bright on top, and Saturn and Mars in between, โ€œNow that’s more impressive!โ€ ๐Ÿ˜Ž

I suddenly felt so small… insignificant…

“When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?” – Psalm 8:3-4 KJV

But at the same time, I felt secure… and warm, despite the cold morning air. ๐Ÿ™‚

Couldn’t take a decent picture, so I grabbed this image online just to illustrate the spectacle.

sailor-moon-sailor-scouts-group
{source}

Err… ๐Ÿ˜›

5-planets-nhemisphere-80minsbeforesunrise-earthsky1-e1453249867188
Image from earthsky.org.

I am reminded of our honeymoon trip to Bohol. My husband and I went stargazing and firefly-watching. No matter how we try to “capture” the moment with our cameras, it just pales in comparison to there real thing.

So I just let myself revel in the spectacle.

โ€œThe heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.โ€ – Psalm 19:1 KJV

The planetary conjunction will run from January 22 to February 20, 2016. The next one will be in 2040. Senior citizen na ako by then! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sana magising ako ulit ngย maaga.ย ๐Ÿ˜›

5 thoughts on “When Planets Align

    1. There was one in 2005, but I didn’t catch that one. Hanggang February 20, 2016 naman daw ito, so there are still many opportunities for you to witness it… before 2040. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      1. I tried getting pictures with my camphone, but they only look like white specks on a black board. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I hope you’d do better. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        You can appreciate daw Jupiter’s moons with a telescope. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

        Like

Leave a Reply

