The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

You’ve probably heard of the New York Times bestselling book “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo. I’ve been reading good reviews about it, and decided to see for myself if the KonMari method of organization lives up to its hype. 😉

I am only barely halfway through the book. Not that it is an uninteresting read–I just haven’t got the time to read through it in one sitting. I try to read a few pages every so often, in between work and watching over/running after the toddler and… cleaning house! Haha! 😀 I think I’ve mentioned that we have recently moved house, and I know I’m procrastinating cleaning and organizing it. It reminds me of those days in school when I have an exam coming up and I would instead clean my bedroom/closet, or do the laundry, or anything in the guise of productivity, but really I am just putting off studying. Only this time, I am procrastinating cleaning the house, by reading a book on tidying up (the irony!) 😛

A few tips I have picked up so far: PURGE and keep only those THINGS THAT SPARK JOY! 😀 I understand the cathartic and dramatic effect of tidying up in one shot, but I don’t think it is applicable to my kind of lifestyle right now. I also see the wisdom in not letting other people know of the things you’re throwing away, and I am soooo tempted to do this to many of our things. 😛

8 thoughts on “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

      1. Hahahahaha! You’re an enabler! Pero seriously, I’m thinking of doing this before the year ends. I’m so guilty of using downgraded clothes when working at home, and I wanna change that. Thanks for blogging about this, nagkaroon ako ng driving force.

        Like

  1. Hi! Read the book and it could really be life-changing for people who would have the courage and mindfulness to do it. I wanna do it one step at a time as I don’t think I can do it in one go. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish I have the luxury of time to clean and declutter the house in one go. However, I have a curious two-year-old who “helps out” every time I clean up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

