Hindi Kita Malilimutan

I was looking for a verse in Isaiah, the one that goes “For unto us a Child is born…” But I couldn’t find it. Instead, this verse jumped right at me:

“Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet I will not forget thee. Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; they walls are continually before me.” (Isaiah 49:15-16 KJV)

It sounded uncannily familiar. And then I just suddenly realized that it was the song, “Hindi Kita Malilimutan.” You know, I actually dislike that song, because I associate it with funerals. Until now, I never knew the whole song, just the first two lines, and I always thought it was the message of the bereaved for their dearly departed.

Googling for the lyrics, I found this:

Hindi kita malilimutan
Hindi kita pababayaan
Nakaukit magpakailanman
Sa ‘king palad ang ‘yong pangalan
Malilimutan ba ng ina
Ang anak na galing sa kanya
Sanggol sa kanyang sinapupunan
Paano niyang matatalikdan
Ngunit kahit na malimutan
Ng ina ang anak niyang tangan
Hindi kita malilimutan
Kailanma’y di pababayaan
Hindi kita malilimutan
Kailanma’y di pababayaan

Then it hit me. That it was God speaking to His people, that He will not forget them. And this is a comforting thought in times of trial and grieving.

It will take a while before I can fully exorcise any morbid associations I have of that song, especially since it’s still a staple in funeral playlists here in the province. But knowing now what it really means, I guess hearing it won’t be as depressing as it used to be.

4 thoughts on “Hindi Kita Malilimutan

  1. Your associating Hindi Kita Malilimutan with funerals reminds me of the song “Lord, Let Your Servant Go In Peace”. Months back, someone asked what a good funeral song was so I asked an “authority”. He suggested LLYSGIP. That stuck. The other morning I was jolted out of sleep because that song kept playing in my dreams. I wondered if I was dying or dead. I have yet to look for the lyrics.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t heard LLYSGIP yet, so I googled it. It’s nice. 🙂 But if I could chose my funeral song, I would like it to be “All We Leave Behind.” My friend belongs to a college choir, and they sang it in one of their concerts. That was the first and only time I’ve heard the song. I’ve tried googling for it, but sadly, search results are nil. I remember the chorus though.

      None of the things we leave behind
      Will tell the story of our passage here
      Not the symbols of wealth, or of glory
      It’s the legacy of love
      That remains engraved in those we hold most dear
      In the people we touch
      It is the essence of all
      We leave behind

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

