My Top Ten Book Peeves

My Top Ten Book Peeves

Image courtesy of http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. I’ve always wanted to take part in their Top Ten Tuesday memes, only I haven’t been reading much so I haven’t got any new books to add to their listings. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But this TTT’s a freebie, so I get to make my own book listings on whatever topic, as long as it’s book/reading-related. ๐Ÿ˜‰

For this Top Ten Tuesday, I am listing my Top Ten Book Peeves. This one’s inspired by a similar list by A Good Woman and this article from Buzzfeed.

1. Lending a book to someone and getting it back ruined. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

2. Lending a book to someone who, without asking for your permission, lends it to someone, who lends it to someone, who lends it to someone… To make matters worse, when you see *your* book (yeah, you just know it is yours) being read by somebody other than the one you lent it to, and inquire about it, the other person denies it. That, or they are mostly unaware that you are the actual owner of the book they are reading. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Which brings us to….

3. Lending a book and not getting it back at all. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

4. Someone reading over your shoulder. Personal space please.

5.ย Sitting next to someone who keeps talking even though you are clearly reading. Now, imagine combining this with #4 above.

6. Books being turned into movies. I used to not like it when books are turned into movies, but I realize that there are some good movies based on books. What I don’t like now is when they use the movie’s poster/actors’ faces as covers.

7. Realizing halfway through a book that you don’t like it, only to struggle through the remainder of it because you wonโ€™t let it win.

8. Thoroughly enjoying a book until a very crappy ending.

9. Missing/being unable to find that one book, to complete a series.

10. Finally being able to find that elusive book in #9 above, but it is of a different edition/publisher/cover/size, and worse, it is the middle book in the series. I get OC with finding its place in the series… and in my bookshelf. Either I follow the proper chronology, but it sticks out like a sore thumb amongst all the other nicely stacked books. Or I put it at the end of the row, but I would obsess about how it’s not arranged in proper sequence.

How about you? Have you got any book peeves?

26 thoughts on “My Top Ten Book Peeves

  1. ” What I donโ€™t like now is when they use the movieโ€™s poster/actorsโ€™ faces as covers.” and “Finally being able to find that elusive book in #9 above, but it is of a different edition/publisher/cover/size, and worse, it is the middle book in the series.” I so agree with you on these! Both of them give me the creeps, just imagining a different sized book among the series’s other instalments. I love your blog title by the way, very subtly intelligent ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. IKR! It drives me crazy, having an outlier book in a series. ๐Ÿ˜› It’s terribly upsetting also when certain covers go out of print, and you have to overhaul your entire collection to make them all uniform. Haha!

      Like

  2. I agree with all of these! Lending books and never getting them back never happens to me though, I have one friend who I lend books to and I have made it perfectly clear that if she loses any of the books I lend to her then she’s paying for a new one. She lost one of my favourite books once, and I made her pay for a new one. Guess what? Hasn’t lost any since! Someone reading over your shoulder is without a doubt my biggest pet peeve, it’s like someone standing over you when you’re watching a movie….just no. Sitting next to someone who keeps talking to you whilst you are reading is also incredibly annoying. Totally agree on the books having movie posters as their covers, I hate it when the only copies of the book I can find are the movie poster ones. Getting halfway through a book and realising you hate it sucks (although I have to say I haven’t suffered from that one in a while!). The enjoying a book which turns out to have a crappy ending is a feeling I know all too well. I haven’t experienced #9 or #10 though.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/19/top-ten-tuesdays-5/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know it’s part of the advertising, but I find using using movie posters lazy and unimaginative. There’s so much potential for creativity in book covers! I admit, I judge a book by its cover. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

    1. I haven’t been buying a lot of {physical} books lately; most of my book purchases are in digital form. It’s much more convenient that way. And I don’t have to lend my iPAD. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

  3. I can’t stop laughing at # 1-5! I agree with all of these ๐Ÿ™‚ Especially #7 as this just happened with me and Becca Fitzpatrick’s “Hush,Hush” I honestly thought the book would win.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good for you. I almost always lose. ๐Ÿ˜› I figured life’s too short to waste time on things you don’t like, bad books included. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Though I might have missed out on some good books because of this, ie. those that get better 3/4 along the way. But of course, I’ll never know coz I already gave up halfway through. ๐Ÿ˜›

      I also confess to jumping straight to the end, and if it’s a satisfying conclusion, I stay on course. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

      1. I did this a lot when I didn’t read ebooks. I would read the last few sentences of a book. If it intrigued me I’d read it. If not it went back on the shelf ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the ping back. Your items on the list are great. I especially love your #2 and I agree that is very annoying. And a book with a crappy ending is always irritating. I am left feeling empty.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Numbers 1, 2 and 3!!!!!!! And I feel so bad because I remember my good old and unreturned books. What’s worst, I never learned my lesson. Maybe because I wanted to share the experience, I allow people to borrow my books. Unfortunately, MOST of them never bothered to return. I don’t want to mention it, but I hope they realise that i don’t get free books. I purchased all of my books from my hard earned money. Just a little respect, I hope they realise that books are valuable and prized possessions too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find it disrespectful that people pass on things without the owner’s knowledge and permission. Books aren’t cheap! When they are enjoyable reads, they are even priceless. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  6. Absolutely people borrowing a book and then lending to someone else and on and on. I do not mind as long as I am asked if they can send it on. Because I do not read a book a second time and I do not keep them (a couple I do but that’s it) It is just a courtesy to ask before relending.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read and re-read my favorite books. And I would want to share the love as well! ๐Ÿ˜‰ But asking for permission and taking care of borrowed books means you respect and value the person who lent them to you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree with all of these being quite annoying. I’ve pretty much stopped lending out books I really want returned just because of the various reasons you gave. The only one I don’t do anymore is #7, if I’m at the half way point and don’t like a book I just give up. Way to many books and way too little time to spend it reading something I don’t like!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, life’s too short to waste time on things you don’t like, bad books included. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Although sometimes pride gets in the way, and I can’t accept “losing” to a book. I also wonder, “What if?” (What if it gets better along the way? What if there’s a twist/a nice surprise?). I try to give it a second chance. Or jump to the last chapters and see if it’s worth sticking it out til the end. But most of the time, I lose. Hehe. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

      1. Lol I do that jump to the last paragraph to see if there is something that might show me it got better if not I finish the end and say I did my best it just didn’t work out. But then other people have read same book and loved it.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I can live with a ruined book, huwag lang hIwa-hiwalay na ang pages (like what happened to by hardbound Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Still sad about it up to now.)
    Super hate #3. I still have a mental hit list of all the people who borrowed by books and haven’t returned them yet.
    #7 Happened a couple of times. When it sucks big time, I finish it and just leave the book at a public restroom. I couldn’t give it to friends but I couldn’t bear throwing it away either.
    #8 Happened recently. So pissed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment gives a whole new meaning to “bathroom reading.” ๐Ÿ˜› Pero malay ba natin kung yung taong nakapulot ng iniwan mong libro, eh magustuhan nya naman. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is my most read book of the series. Just a few more re-readings and the pages are gonna fly loose. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I hope they re-release the hardbound editions, so that I can get another Book 3 (and you, Book 1?).

      Like

    1. Hmmm… Is it because reference books are so expensive!?!!?! To hell with uniformity, if you can only afford them secondhand from Recto, or worse, x***xed. ๐Ÿ˜›

      The only movie poster cover books I like are those of The X-Files (Also “A Walk in The Clouds” but I couldn’t find my copy.) Maybe because they were TV programs/movies first before they became books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

