My Favorite X-Files Episodes

With news that Fox is bringing back The X-Files, I couldn’t help but reminisce over my favorite X-Files episodes. I’ve been meaning to write about them, but I do not know how to re-introduce them. (I only started blogging in 2005, and The X-Files ended its run in 2002. The second movie could have also been a good springboard for such discussion, but I didn’t have time then. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ). But with The X-Files making a comeback (no conspiracy here!), thought now’s an opportune time to share my favorites with you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

1. The Post-Modern Prometheus.ย Mulder and Scully look into the claims of a woman who has been impregnated by a mysterious creature. In the course of their investigation, they discover The Great Mutato (mutation)–a modern-day Frankenstein “monster”. The episode is rendered in black-and-white, reminiscent of old Frankenstein films.

Why do I love it? Because of the dance scene at the episode’s end. Granted “Walking in Memphis” isn’t even a romantic song, but Mulder seemed shy asking Scully to dance with him; she was surprised, but gamely obliges. I also like the black-and-white comic book feel.

.

2. Memento Mori. Latin for: “remember (that you will) die.” Scully discovers she has cancer (NPCA perhaps?). Mulder reads through her diary, err, ๐Ÿ˜› investigates if it is connected to her previous abduction.

Why do I love it? Because of the hug in the hospital hallway. Scully was even way shorter in her hospital slippers, allowing Mulder to rest his chin on her head. It didn’t strike me as romantic, but it felt like of one of the warmest and most comforting hugs. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. Redux. Mulder fakes his death, so he could freely investigate on the government’s coverup re extraterrestrial life. He also strikes a deal with The Cigarette Smoking Man in an attempt to find a cure for Scully’s cancer. This is a two-part episode, a part of the show’s mythology.

Why do I love it? Mulder sure does not cry beautifully. ๐Ÿ˜› But for all his ugly crying face, you feel the rawness and intensity of his emotions. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I wanted to reach out and comfort him. He looked like such a lost boy. I also like the heated exchange during Mulder’s hearing.

.

4. Triangle. Mulder investigates the mysterious disappearance of a luxury passenger ship over the Bermuda Triangle, and travels back in time to 1939. There he meets the 1939 counterparts of his contemporaries. This episode’s sequences were filmed and edited to appear like one long continuous take.

Why do I love it? Because Mulder says “I love you.” to Scully. ๐Ÿ˜› Because Mulder and (1939) Scully kiss. And because of the almost perfect execution of the long continuous sequences; I especially enjoyed the scene with the elevators. ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. Chinga. Scully goes on vacation in Maine, and stumbles upon a killer doll. Meanwhile at the X-Files office, Mulder is bored without his partner. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Co-written by Stephen King. Kinda like Chucky/Bride of Chucky, but this one’s more eerie.

Why do I love it? Because Mulder proposes marriage to Scully. Even if it was out of sheer boredom, he apparently misses her. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Do you have any favorite X-Files episodes? I would love to hear about them. ๐Ÿ™‚

Standby for Part Two ๐Ÿ˜Ž

5 thoughts on “My Favorite X-Files Episodes

  1. It’s so hard to pick favorites! I love all the ones you’ve mentioned for various (and similar) reasons, but Milagro, Requiem, The Unnatural, The Sixth Extinction series, and the movies come to mind right away.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ooooh I never knew you have a new blog! I thought this was your first post for this blog but was pleasantly surprised as I scrolled down and saw (and read) older entries! Great to read things about your new life as a consultant/mother!

    My favorites changed over the years and there are so many criteria, but I guess my criterion today would be: what would I like to watch at this very moment. (for example, Momento Mori has always been a favorite but I don’t have the urge to watch it right now)

    1. 4-D- Season 9 has been universally negatively reviewed, but I genuinely like it and was hoping Doggett and Reyes would be able to carry on. I like the acting and story in this one! If I would be asked to recommend one episode from season 9 this would be it.

    2. The Post-Modern Prometheus- for the DANCE of course!

    3. Anasazi/Blessing Way/Paperclip- This is what really got me addicted into the series. I was not yet aware of the concepts of “seasons” and “season finales” back then, so when I watched the cliffhanger in Anasazi I patiently waited for the continuation the following week in channel 9 only to watch a replay of an old episode. The patience we had back then.

    4. Duane Barry/Ascension- This holds a special place in my heart as I remember watching this in our Batcave with my dad and again getting hooked by the cliffhanger where Scully was abducted.

    5. Dod Kalm- I remember the commercial for this in channel 9 (the ship is bleeding!). And I will always like that scene where Scully raced to get all the fluids for Mulder to drink (from the ice globe, tuna, etc) at syempre nahulog pa sa floor.

    6. Release- another Season 9 goodie.

    7. Closure- If this episode were not done so well medyo maiirita ako na ganun ang nangyari kay Samantha, but the episode was quite touching and I remember getting all misty whenever I watched it.

    8. Within/Without- I like the sense of adventure in this one, with Scully running around and Dogget getting introduced with the special participation of Gibson Praise! Sana maincorporate nila sa movie ang binatang Gibson Praise (baka tatay na yung artista ngayon ahahahaha)

    9. The Unnatural- Just all around fun.

    10. Field Trip- This is I think the only episode where I really felt the suspense because I didn’t know what was going on. Medyo nawal na kasi ang thrill and suspense of the show at some point nung naging predictable na ang mga kalaban and then nung naging uso na ang mga episode guides, but for this particular episode for some reason I haven’t read anything about it in advance and good thing too!

    Keep on writing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your well-thought of and very lengthy comment. ๐Ÿ˜›

      My favorites have been fairly consistent. It’s just the ranking that’s changeable, although my Top 5 is pretty fixed. And they are also my answers to the question, “What would I like to watch at this very moment?” Yes, even “Memento Mori”! It could be the prequel to Redux. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

      I have a second part of this list coming up, which will include “Small Potatoes”, “Bad Blood”, “The Unnatural”, among others. I’m actually having trouble trimming my Top 10 list, because there are so many episodes I want to include. I might have to extend my list to a Top 15, or Top 20 even.

      Like

Leave a Reply

