How to Drink At Least 8 Glasses of Water a Day

Today on The Daily Post: Take a complicated subject you know more about than most people, and explain it to a friend who knows nothing about it at all.

Ok, so drinking 8 glasses of water may not seem to be an uncomplicated task. (Why, there are even paid apps dedicated to just monitoring one’s daily water intake!) Sure, I get my liquid fix from juices & teas & coffee, the last being an oxymoron because it causes diuresis. But water–pure, clear water–can be quite boring and bland for my taste. 😛

This post is more of a reminder for me, than for anybody else. 😉 Drinking water has a lot of benefits, from relieving headaches to improving digestion and kidney function. Personally, I just want to be able to drink more water in order to lose weight and for good skin. So here’s a little trick I use to track how much water I’ve imbibed.

  • Drink 1 glass before each meal, and another glass after. That easily takes care of 6 glasses.
  • Drink 1 glass of water upon waking up.
  • Drink 1 glass of water before going to bed.

And voila! That’s 8 glasses already. 😎 You can take in another glass *during* meals, and after each pee, for more hydration! 😉 Added 02/11/2015: Click here for some water drinking apps.

5 thoughts on “How to Drink At Least 8 Glasses of Water a Day

  1. A tip you did not include is to stop saying that water is boring and tasteless, because it is not. I feel that one reason people don’t drink enough water is because this thinking is drilled into us at an early age. When I am thirsty nothing quenches my thirst like clear, cool water. Soda, coffee, juice usually make me more thirsty. If you stop telling yourself water is tasteless and boring and start embracing it, you will find what I did many years ago. Water is the taste of life. I have no trouble drinking 8 glasses of water a day and I often drink more. When I am at my computer, there is always a large tumbler of water next to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so need to drink more water (as I sit here sipping my tea). lol! These are great ideas and I’ll try to implement them. What are some of the apps that you have come across for water consumption? I may need one to keep me on track.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

