Audio

Requiem for a Soldier

This blog’s supposed to be a “happy” one, but I just couldn’t ignore this week’s heartbreaking headlines. 😦 They may be collectively known as the “SAF 44” or the “Fallen 44”, but to someone else, they were a husband, father, son, brother, fiance, friend. I do not know them, but I couldn’t help but cry over the loss of so many young and promising lives.

Today, January 30, 2015, has been declared a Day of National Mourning. And I join the country in paying tribute to  the 44 brave young men who perished in the Mamasapano clash.

Rest in peace. In Heaven, there is no war.

Requiem for a Soldier (Theme from “Band of Brothers”) – Amici Forever

You never lived to see
What you gave to me
One shining dream of hope and love
Life and liberty
With a host of brave unknown soldiers
For your company you will live forever
Here in our memory

In fields of sacrifice
Heroes paid the price
Young men who died for old men’s wars
Gone to paradise
We are all one great band of brothers
And one day you’ll see we can live together
When all the world is free

I wish you’d lived to see
All you gave to me
Your shining dream of hope and love
Life and liberty
We are all one great band of brothers
And one day you’ll see – we can live together
When all the world is free

One thought on “Requiem for a Soldier

  1. I was supposed to write a post about the Fallen44 too, but I couldn’t get my hands to do the typing. I was and still am overwhelmed by the whole situation/crisis and it’s really breaking my heart to see all the news about them. I thought I’ve wiped all my tears but everytime I hear or see news about the Fallen44, I cry and cry again 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

